Understanding the Structure of the Earth


Are you ready to join us on an intriguing adventure that will take you on an exciting exploration of the Earth and its cores?

Seismic waves are elements that studied and recorded in order to understand the fascinating mysteries hidden inside our planet Earth. These waves are triggered by explosions, earthquakes and the movements of the oceans, and there are two major kinds of seismic waves. The first is a shear wave, which doesn’t travel through liquids, and the other is pressure wave, which travels through both, solid substances and liquids.

These seismic waves reveal that the Earth comprises of five layers, which are: the inner core, outer core, lower mantle, upper mantle, and finally, the crust.

Structure of the Earth
Image Credit: NASA

Let’s take a look at these layers, shall we?

Inner Core

With a temperature that soars between 5,000°C – 6,000°C, the inner core of the Earth is like a gigantic solid metal ball sprawling over an enormous width of 2,500km. The inner core mainly comprises of iron and some portions contain nickel, and it is said to six thousand times more warmer than our atmosphere, and hot enough to even dissolve metal. The metal present in the inner core remains in a solid state due to the overwhelming force and pressure that surrounds the inner core.

Outer Core

The outer core boosts a temperature of 4,000°C – 6,000°C, and it is a liquid layer comprising of nickel and iron, with a depth of 5,150 km. The outer core is composed of iron, nickel, oxygen and sulphur, and it is present right in the center of the Earth. The movements that occur within the metals of the outer core create the magnetic field of our planet.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here